Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The emperor's handbook: a new translation of the meditations

By: Aurelius, Marcus.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York Scribner Book Company 2002Description: 150 p.ISBN: 9780743233835; 0743233832.Subject(s): Ethics | Stoics | LifeDDC classification: 188 Summary: In the tradition of The Art of Living and Marcus Aurelius’ Meditations—a practical book of timeless advice from one of the most powerful individuals in history—available for the first time in a highly accessible translation, including several unique features for contemporary readers and users of daily wisdom guides. Essayist Matthew Arnold described the man who wrote these words as “the most beautiful figure in history.” Possibly so, but he was certainly more than that. Marcus Aurelius ruled the Roman Empire at its height, yet he remained untainted by the incalculable wealth and absolute power that had corrupted many of his predecessors. Marcus knew the secret of how to live the good life amid trying and often catastrophic circumstances, of how to find happiness and peace when surrounded by misery and turmoil, and of how to choose the harder right over the easier wrong without apparent regard for self-interest. http://www.simonandschuster.com/books/The-Emperors-Handbook/Marcus-Aurelius/9780743233835
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Add tag(s)
Log in to add tags.
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Vikram Sarabhai Library
General Stacks
Non Fiction 188 A8E6 (Browse shelf) Available 194254

In the tradition of The Art of Living and Marcus Aurelius’ Meditations—a practical book of timeless advice from one of the most powerful individuals in history—available for the first time in a highly accessible translation, including several unique features for contemporary readers and users of daily wisdom guides. Essayist Matthew Arnold described the man who wrote these words as “the most beautiful figure in history.” Possibly so, but he was certainly more than that. Marcus Aurelius ruled the Roman Empire at its height, yet he remained untainted by the incalculable wealth and absolute power that had corrupted many of his predecessors. Marcus knew the secret of how to live the good life amid trying and often catastrophic circumstances, of how to find happiness and peace when surrounded by misery and turmoil, and of how to choose the harder right over the easier wrong without apparent regard for self-interest.

http://www.simonandschuster.com/books/The-Emperors-Handbook/Marcus-Aurelius/9780743233835

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

Powered by Koha